Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Secondary Navigation

Main page Content


Benowa State School is delivering and assessing students against the Australian Curriculum from Prep to Year 6 in the following areas:
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • HASS – History and Social Sciences
  • Design Technology
  • The Arts – Music, Visual Arts, Drama, Dance and Media
The benefit of an Australian Curriculum is that it gives teachers and students more consistent standards in all schools across Australia. The curriculum sets out the core knowledge, understanding and skills that are important for all students.
All learning areas have a focus on developing seven general capabilities of students. These include:
  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Information and communication technology competence
  • Critical and creative thinking
  • Ethical behaviour
  • Personal and social competence
  • Intercultural understanding.
Incorporated in each subject area and the seven general capabilities are the three cross-curricular priorities of:
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Histories and Cultures
  • Asia and Australia's engagement with Asia
  • Sustainability.
For more information about the Australian Curriculum visit:
The Australian Curriculum describes the learning entitlement of students as a foundation for their future learning, growth and active participation in the Australian community. It makes clear what all young Australians should learn as they progress through schooling. It is the foundation for high quality teaching to meet the needs of all Australian students.